Myrtle Bank Farm, Handsworth

Guest NJSC

Hello

I am new to this, so I'm sorry if I have posted in the wrong place!

I am looking for details on Myrtle Bank Farm (Handsworth). My relative, George Revitt, is registered as living there in 1881 and 1891, but I can't find anydetails of it.

I'd be most grateful if anyone could point me in the right direction!

Hope all had a good Christmas.

Hello

I am new to this, so I'm sorry if I have posted in the wrong place!

I am looking for details on Myrtle Bank Farm (Handsworth). My relative, George Revitt, is registered as living there in 1881 and 1891, but I can't find anydetails of it.

I'd be most grateful if anyone could point me in the right direction!

Hope all had a good Christmas.

Welcome to the site NJSC, don't worry about posting in the wrong place - plenty of helpers capable of managing posts and their location.

1891 and 1881 Census images for everyones reference :

1871 - it would appear he was a Schoolmaster at Stannington and a Farmer at Underbank.

Nothing to do with your question, but, interesting all the same. (Fits in with other Revitts in that location)

Thanks! Gosh. Very quick replies.

I am looking into the Revitts in Stannington and Grays. It seems many of my relatives were teachers - as am I!

I wonder if any photos exist of the farm? Do you know anything more about it? Seems quite sizeable.

The family were also innkeepers in Stannington at The Greyhound and Sportsman. According to my Granddad (whose brains I was picking), he said that one of the innkeepers (a Gray I think) burnt to death outside his own pub - pretty gruesome.

1841 George's Father George, a Scale Presser (I think, eyes haven't recovered from yesterday), Town End, Stannington. (Ages rounded in 1841 Census)

---------------------------

Steve and me aren't new at anything; old at a few things he he

Marriage Apr-Jun 1845 George Revitt and Sarah Priestley, Rotherham

(Upload failed on Sarah Priestley image) ... got there eventually