Atlantic Inn

Guest Jeremy

I can't see this one in our listings:

I'd book that one in as new - well found, I've not got it, nor him. There is a Brightmore Tavern, Brightmore Street (1871) but nothing to connect them.

You have a keeper, a Street, a Pub name and a year that's all we ask.

Congratulations - you've landed one ! lol

[is that a Bankruptcy ?]

Wow! I had thought that there were no new ones to find!

This is a 'Notice of Release of Trustees'. I have no knowledge of 1920s bankruptcy law, so I can only speculate on what that means, but my guess would be that this was people who who had been declared bankrupt coming out of bankruptcy, possibly, maybe?

So far I have found no other mention of this pub.

There will be others, most will turn out to be beerhouses not on our list of Pubs.

The rich resource for new finds (I think) will be :

Census records (hence Stuart and me fiddling about in 1891 - we only had 90 records for 1891 - compared with 783 for 1881 and 312 for 1893)

Years I don't have access to - Ukelele Lady seems to be doing well on that score

1925-1948 - our biggest gap, Depression but also Sheffield Gang Wars, protection, Boozers during the War, the re-emergence after the War

another big "gap" from 1951 onwards (my fault probably, I had always intended stopping at WWII, then 1951 data became available - then I foolishly added in the modern Bars/Pubs, including many I had never seen/been in/heard of)

and "stuff" - family history, bankruptcy records, newspapers, modern Directories e.g. 50's & 60's Directories, people's memories of Weddings/Funerals/Birthday parties.

It is certainly the first time I've seen it - the Atlantic that is; could be a rename if Atlantic was fashionable at the time, but we have no reason to believe it is not an unknown one.

Now, where was the King Tutankhamun boozer ?

<Joking>

Working on the possibility that it is a rename, there are two candidate beer houses:

The Rose and Crown