1st WW Memorial Plaques - origin?

emo924

Good afternoon all

I have recently acquired two small brass plaques which list the names of Sheffield men killed or died in the First World War.

I am researching all these men but can find no reasonable explanation why they appeared on the same plaques as there

is no connection between them geographically or due to trades or professions.

If anyone recognises them and can suggest where the plaques were originally sited I would be grateful.

A few might question the ethical position of owning such memorials but I am a dedicated Sheffield researcher who treats such

with the utmost respect and was determined not to see these perhaps ended up being scrapped.

Any information more than welcomed.

Chris

plaques.jpeg

If you can locate these people on the 1911 census, that might pin them down to a particular area. Are they listed on the Great War roll of honour - does this give a location? It could be they were members of a now demolished church.

Pte Percy Theodore Fearn No 42542 2Bn West Yorkshire Reg (Prince of Wale's Own) died 16 Aug 1917.  commemorated at Tyne Cot Memorial, Panel 42 to 47. Son of Georgina Fearn of Primrose Cottage, Bamford. was employed by Midland Railway at Masborough

Herbert Hirst Thomlinson No 20171 3rd Bn, "O" Coy Kings Own Scottish Borderers died 25 March 1917. commemorated at Edinburgh (Comely Bank) Cemetery. Son of Judith and the late Thomas Tomlinson of 37 Croft Buildings, Campo Ln

info from Commonwealth War Graves

Probably the Charity School for Boys / Blue Coat School on Psalter Lane. The school was moved from East Parade to Psalter lane, and the new building was opened by the Countess Fitzwilliam on 5th September 1911. Several of the men were at the school on East Parade in April 1911, the rest may have been there or Psalter Lane in other years.

• Like 1

Thanks to all for responding.