Long Henry Street

Hutton

Good Evening all ( sounds like Dixon of Dock Green)

I am new to this so please bear with me. I am researching my family history and I would like to know the (former) location of Long Henry Street.

any help would be much appreciated

Thanks

Hi Tozzin

Thanks for your reply. Is Henry Street in the Netherthorpe area?

Would you know of any old street maps with Long Henry Street and Colliers Row on them? or any old photos ?

Thanks

9 minutes ago, Hutton said:

Hi Tozzin

Thanks for your reply. Is Henry Street in the Netherthorpe area?

Would you know of any old street maps with Long Henry Street and Colliers Row on them? or any old photos ?

Thanks

Long Henry Street was in the Park district , it’s named lived on in the supposedly iconic Park Hill Flats.

here’s a few photos of Long Henry Street, some just before demolition,the photo that shows the Gilmour beer sign is the Red Lion, the building is still there but I’m unsure if it’s still a pub.

18F0164F-00C0-43B0-A964-7C786BDD5A6A.jpeg

6AC325EA-6743-4152-8544-670F7C685F85.jpeg

DBA7EB93-00DF-461A-B119-AB1C32F34A72.jpeg

32881132-0F3C-4D77-A57E-408568C64B69.jpeg

1EE24300-DC54-4B16-9179-FBC61C35487E.jpeg

Wow!!!! Thats fantastic . Thank you very much. I suspected it might be around there but Google is showing me Shalesmoor area.

My 2x great grandad was a miner and his father a sicklemaker.

I`m looking for a Willoughby Hutton and his wife Alice. On the wedding certificate for 1874 it states their address as 44 Long Henry Street.

It just states the Parish Church in Sheffield.

Also his son Henry Hutton married Annie Elizabeth Sylvesterv at St. Johns Church Sheffield in 1897 and they lived at 6 Long Steps

5 minutes ago, Hutton said:

I`m looking for a Willoughby Hutton and his wife Alice. On the wedding certificate for 1874 it states their address as 44 Long Henry Street.

It just states the Parish Church in Sheffield.