Coats of Arms on City Hall

Andrew

I'm sure that they have been there for years, but I have only just noticed two coats of arms on the west side of the City Hall.

They both seem to allude to the Royal Coat of Arms  - but are not. I can pickout lions, unicorns, dragons, harp, thistle, ER etc but neither is the royal Coat of Arms - and who is MR?

I can find nothing in Pevsner, Wikiwhatnot, the web. I'm sure it's obvious.

Thanks

coa 1.jpg

coa 2.jpg

The two unicorns and red lion one might be a reference to Mary Queen of Scots, hence MR. It is generally like a coat of arms of Scotland (I am no expert) and there are a couple other things that suggest Scotland such as a white cross of St Andrew and a thistle.

There is a similar coat of arms on here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mary,_Queen_of_Scots

Does anybody know the reason why these coat of arms were chosen. Mary Queen of Scots and Elizabeth I seem strange to appear together on a  building that has no connection to either of them. 

Wasn’t Mary imprisoned, for years ,in Sheffield under the care of the countries then richest man…the Earl of Shrewsbury in Sheffield Castle and Manor House? As for Elizabeth ,I have no suggestion other than that it was she who ordered Mary to be imprisoned and later executed.

The answer given by the newspapers in 1932 to the question, was that the initials referred to the infant Princess Elizabeth (now our Queen) and Princess Mary (daughter of George V).

Thank you for your replies - there are some interesting theories but my preference is for Edmund's. Ties in with the opening date. Who opened it?

ER - Elizabeth "Regina" - not in 1932 ... MR - Mary d. of George V was never "Regina" - How about Margaret Rose? But that doesn't fit with Elizabeth Alexandra Mary.

We're approaching the answer but I'm not sure that we have got there yet.