Research needed for a new book

Guest markl

Guest markl

Hello all

Firstly can I introduce myself, my name is Mark and I am a journalist. I was Sheffield born and bred but am now living out in deepest, darkest Wales where I am deputy editor on a newspaper out there.

I am currently writing my first novel, but need some help with some information. It is partly based in Sheffield, and it is the period 1939 to 1941 that I am interested in. There are a number of elements that I need help with.

1) Entertainment....particularly the dance halls and the cinemas. Which ones did people go to, what were they like, what was the atmosphere like, did people go during the early part of the war, what was it like in them when there was a raid, what sort of music was in the dances, was there live bands, if so who, what happened at them, what films can people remember, how much did these things cost, who went, how did they change as the war progressed (particularly after the Blitz) etc?

2) The Blitz itself... I would be particuarly interested to hear from anyone in Sheffield city centre on the night of the Blitz.

3) Shopping....in particular C&A Modes, what was the shop like, what did it sell, but also other shops (and also the cafes within them, what sort of food was served, again how did this change as the war went on, which were people's favourites - I have a lot of names from my gran's diaries, but they are just names, Tuckwood's, Walsh's, Davy's etc, but can anyone put any meat on the bones), also shops out of town, particularly Neepsend/Hillsborough and Ecclesall Road area?

4) Rationing.....any memories, any favourite meals that were forced by rationing, how people dealt with it, what sort of things were people eating, again how did it change as things went on?

5) Press....how did the Star/Telegraph report things, did people read it or did they rely on the wireless? If so, what programmes were people listening to, and how much news were they actually given?