The Holberry Society

Guest TheBotanical

Guest TheBotanical

As a few of you may know, I am a mature student at Hallam in my second year. I have been given a research project to study The Society called the Holberry Society which I believe was created in the late 1970's. I understand that the secretary of the society died a few years ago and I have had no luck in contacting John Baxter, whom I believe played a big part in the Society.

I'm off to the City Library tomorrow (I'm local) to see what I kind find out about the Society. One thing I have managed to do is to purchase a small pamphlet of the Society which was published in 1978. I'll see if I can post it on here. Any advice or heads up would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

As a few of you may know, I am a mature student at Hallam in my second year. I have been given a research project to study The Society called the Holberry Society which I believe was created in the late 1970's. I understand that the secretary of the society died a few years ago and I have had no luck in contacting John Baxter, whom I believe played a big part in the Society.

I'm off to the City Library tomorrow (I'm local) to see what I kind find out about the Society. One thing I have managed to do is to purchase a small pamphlet of the Society which was published in 1978. I'll see if I can post it on here. Any advice or heads up would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

I recall buying that pamphlet in my rebellious youth - I also remember buying this also this one by John Baxter about the 1844 Miners Strike.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/WELL-MASTERS-NOW-SHEFFIELD-YORKSHIRE/dp/0948987014

http://www.amazon.co.uk/WELL-MASTERS-NOW-SHEFFIELD-YORKSHIRE/dp/0948987014

Guest TheBotanical

Saw that the other day, thanks Richard.

That's a great find Richard. I'll have to put some time away to go through those boxes. Many thanks!

Another great find, Cheers Richard.