Sheffield China And Pottery Factories... Help!

Guest LadyDebonaire

Guest LadyDebonaire

Hello!

I'm a china designer based in Sheffield. About 18 months ago I was selling my wares at a fair, and 2 old dears came to me for a chat. They said that they both used to work in a china factory in Sheffield before it closed down.

I regret not asking them the name of the factory, as I'm now really keen to find out more about it.

I have a little dream you see, and it's to open up this factory again, bring the old staff out of retirement, and get them to train the next generation of potters and apprentices so we can make Sheffield the new pottery capital of England!

I would appreciate any information you may have on any pottery factories in Sheffield, names of the companies, if you worked there, who the current owner of the factory might be?

Thank you!

Lianne

Hello and Welcome to the Site LadyDebonaire.

I can think of hundreds of China dealers/merchants etc but not one China manufacturer; hopefully I'm wrong and we'll be flooded with them. What time period are we looking at please for the factory ?

Pottery is pretty much the same, only place I can find,at present, is Parkside Direct Pottery Co., 131/133 Middlewood Road (1957) and even then it doesn't say they were manufacturing.

Do you think these ladies were processing china and pottery brought in from elsewhere ?

Some possibilities (the early ones included just for info, Romans excluded):

John Fox, potter, rented part of the Manor Lodge around 1715 and had a considerable output.

Swinton Pottery established 1745 in the Rockingham Works ( see )

Don Pottery at Swinton (same as above?) made a jug incorporating Spence Broughton's trigger finger

1828-9 Pigots Directory - John Fearby of Attercliffe Common was a potter

1905 Whites Directory - Walter Hawley 18 Rawmarsh Road Parkgate Rotherham was a potter

1911 Census - John Draper 13 Webster St, Carbrook was a potter - possibly refractory ware?