St Mary's Road Area (Near Train Station)

Guest AndreasP

Guest AndreasP

Hi all,

This is my first post so I hope I'm in the correct place. I am an architecture student in the university of sheffield working in a studio project that involves designing a film centre next to Hyper Store in St Marys Road in the area near the train station. I am looking for the historical background of that area and in particular any memories people might have that lived there are what the essence of the place was in the past (was it more industrial? where there many shops? how did it feel like walking by in the past? how do you feel the area has developed now?) Also any personal opinions/memories would be appreciated. Frankly, anything would be good!

Thanks in advance!

A map would be good (anyone please ?), might enable us to work out house numbers and old industries.

What year(s) are you looking for ?

Welcome to the Site, hope we can come up with something.

Guest AndreasP

The Hyper Store is in the corner of St Mary's Road and Matilda Str (S1 4QG). My site is behind that Hyper Store which now is selling furniture. I'm looking about early 20th century, before and after the war. Also how the place felt like in the past and how it feels like now to people that lived /experienced that area.

Thanks for the prompt reply!!! This is a great community over here!

A map would be good (anyone please ?), might enable us to work out house numbers and old industries.

What year(s) are you looking for ?

1903, low numbers west (Bramall Lane) high numbers east (Suffolk Road),

even numbers are on the south side of St. Mary's Rd.

The Hyper Store is in the corner of St Mary's Road and Matilda Str (S1 4QG). My site is behind that Hyper Store which now is selling furniture. I'm looking about early 20th century, before and after the war. Also how the place felt like in the past and how it feels like now to people that lived /experienced that area.