St Hilda's Parish Church Threatened By Imminent Demolition

Guest sthildas

Guest sthildas

Hi I am a local resident in Firth Park and I am trying to find out more about the history of St Hildas church in Wincobank. The building is currently threatened by demolition and local residents have set up a campaign to try and develop a proposal for the building to be used for coimmunity use due to its heriatge and local community value. A vast red brick building it stands proud perched on the edge of the hillside overlooking the entire area and is much loved by locals. Does anyone know anything about St Hildas that might help us save it? www.sthildas.webs.com

Good Luck with the petition (which I have signed), time to complain about destruction for destructions sake and the replacement of fine old buildings with "rubbish".

Formed out of portions of the parishes of St. Cuthbert (Fir Vale); St. Thomas' (Wincobank) and St. Thomass# (Brightside) in November 1936.

The site of the church (consecrated 1938) was given by Mr. Bradley Firth, and a sum of £3,000 was presented towards the building by Mrs. Jeffcock, a former resident of Shire House, Lower Shire Green.

The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £550, with residence, in 1957 by the Rev. Ronald Thomson, B. A., of Leeds Universty.

I lived on Lilac Rd as a child and attended Sunday School there, brownies and guides. It was a large part of my childhood. I married there and had my children baptised there. It would be very sad to see it go. I realise that time marches on and church attendance is not always high on people's lists now but surely it could be left standing but have a change of use for the whole community.

In the 50s there were concerts there by both children and adults and it also had its own band marching around the streets. There were jumble sales, fetes etc. Dances were held in the very large hall downstairs on a Saturday night and on a Tuesday there was also ballroom dancing taught.

Lyn

Guest sthildas