Pond Street In The 1970's... How Do You Remember It ?

Sheffield History

Pond Street in its heyday! Even the petrol station is there, complete with [out of view] its own classic car showroom. W/E.

I remember the display board that was just up the road going up Flatt Street. I just can't remember what it did now :wacko: Was it a street map? I seem to recall it having lights?

I also remember the mass of passengers waiting to get on the 41 bus. They always took ages to load as there was no conductor.

Time to bring back a Sheffield History classic : the Lightie-Uppie-Thingie

I remember the display board that was just up the road going up Flatt Street. I just can't remember what it did now :wacko: Was it a street map? I seem to recall it having lights?

51 to Herdings (or am I mistaken ? I am a well respected Transport expert you know !)

I also remember the mass of passengers waiting to get on the 41 bus. They always took ages to load as there was no conductor.

51 to Herdings (or am I mistaken ? I am a well respected Transport expert you know !)

51, as far as I remember that did not go into Pond St

I remember the Queues for the 41, if I am not mistaken in those days you would get queues for most routes in Pond St

I also remember 1 day whilst queueing for the 41, to go home after work, there being a drunk laid out in the queue, around his neck was an expensive looking tape recorder. The drunk being Roger Moffat from Radio Hallam on his way to interview someone, obviously he had struggled to walk past a few of the pub on his way down to Pond St from Hartshead.

51, as far as I remember that did not go into Pond St

Correct Stuart, 41 from Pond Street to Hackenthorpe.

51 cut across the City without going into the City, one terminus was Herdings, the other was Crookes.

Madannie will probably know the exact route and all the stops, sorry fare stages, on the way.