Dunkirk

Thorntons girl

I have just watched the film, Dunkirk, it is so dramatic and heart rendering and scary.

What those poor soldiers went through, lots of them boys.

Has anyone got a family involved in the evacuation of Dunkirk, I would love to hear of some experiences.

These are the true heroes of the war.

The country saw a miracle happen...and, somehow,  we turned a disaster of immense proportions into a victory. A relation of mine ...a bricklayer by trade...volunteered and spent almost a year carrying out his trade by building pill boxes and the like in northern France. He never fired a shot in anger was told to retreat and was evacuated along with the rest from the beaches of Dunkirk.

iI should add that he was not only thankful for his escape but quite bitter at what he saw as the abject failure of the Generals to see what the Germans were up to. It should be remembered that apart from artillery the French and British outnumbered the Germans in almost everything. The real heroes were those who stayed behind in the rear guard and fought the Germans in an attempt to stem their advance...not least the 30,000 French at Amiens...who get not a mention in the film...nor the 300,000 French soldiers who were killed in the campaign.

There is so much to this story we dont know about and which is not mentioned/

Yes the ones who stayed behind were true heroes, it must have been horrific whether you left the beach or stayed.