Westthorpe Colliery, Holbrook Colliery and me.

ken wain

I was an apprentice electrician at Westthorpe in the mid 1950's; the colliery was connected underground with Holbrook as an escape route for either colliery in case of emergency and for enhanced ventilation purposes; There was also a pumping facility in Holbrook pit bottom which helped to keep water levels under control for both collieries. These facilities were maintained when Holbrook officially closed in 1944 until its demolition in 1956, by Westthorpe officials and craftsmen. The collieries were approx one and a half miles apart and the roadway linking the two together had to be periodically inspected by a deputy with a flame safety lamp to keep testing for gas along its entire length; I once went with a deputy and an electrician who was going to examine and maintain switchgear which was used to control the water pumps and lighting in the pit bottom.  It was very hard going, walking and sometimes crawling along the roadway which due to subsidence and floor lift due to general depreciation was no more than two foot six high in places. All this whilst having a heavy tool bag ,water bottle, snap tin and cap lamp battery on my back and around my waist, and believe me it was very scary for a young lad like me. An experience I will never forget !