A Mystery: Ellis Family / Mosborough Hill House Research

Guest lanerellis

Guest lanerellis

Hi there Sheffield History folks,

My name is Lane R. Ellis and I live in Duluth,Minnesota in the U.S. I've been researching my family history for 19 years. I've been an Internet user for 29 years, since the pre-Web days of 1984, when I first began running my own online bulletin board system. I've read Sheffield History since it first went online, but have only now become a member.

My Ellis ancestors were from Mosborough, Eckington parish, before they came to the U.S. in the summer of 1850. I've been to Sheffield twice, once in 2001 and again in 2003, to explore my family history. I present to you a mystery: where in Mosborough did my Ellis ancestors live?

GENERAL:

The earliest location I can place my Ellis ancestors is in Mosborough, Eckington parish, Derbyshire, at a location noted only by the following description in George Foster's 1886 "Reminiscences of Mosborough" book:

"Fist pediod, 1800 to 1825: John Ellis’ residence at the top of Mosbro’ Moor."

Where could this residence would be?

John Ellis junior was my 4th great-grandfather, baptised on April 17, 1775 at Eckington, married at neaby Clowne parish on November 6, 1802 to Olive STANIFORTH, and died at age 37 on February 11, 1812, being buried two days later in the Eckington churchyard, where his tombstone still rests. The will he left notes that he was "of Mosbro Moor." He was a sickle maker according to a U.S. Wisconsin, Green County 1882 history book with an entry for his son Mark Ellis, as was his father John Ellis senior.