J. R. Hobson & Co Ltd

vox

Nursery Street

Established 1870

Hobsons brings back memories,

called in there numerous times when I worked in the fishing tackle trade.

Question; any idea what item/s would a fishing tackle shop buy from a retailer to the pub/licensing trade ?

Edit, the answer is not corks.

Something to use as weights, they were brass founders weren't they ? ... not a fisherman - beer was my first thought ...

Hobsons brings back memories,

called in there numerous times when I worked in the fishing tackle trade.

Question; any idea what item/s would a fishing tackle shop buy from a retailer to the pub/licensing trade ?

Edit, the answer is not corks.

Something to use as weights, they were brass founders weren't they ? ... not a fisherman - beer was my first thought ...

I can't answer your statement about the concerned as being 'brass founders'

but you are on the right lines of thinking regarding beer.

I can't answer your statement about the concerned as being 'brass founders'

but you are on the right lines of thinking regarding beer.

Would it be pint glasses to measure out bait rather than beer.

I'm not a fisherman but I think maggots are sold by the pint so they must have a simple way of measuring "a pint of maggots".

A 1 pint dead measure beer glass would be ideal.

Would it be pint glasses to measure out bait rather than beer. I'm not a fisherman but I think maggots are sold by the pint so they must have a simple way of measuring "a pint of maggots". A 1 pint dead measure beer glass would be ideal.

You are spot on Dave, both pint and half pint glasses were used to measure maggots,

to keep the UK weights and measures authority happy when they came round checking,

it was required to have measures that displayed the Crown stamp

Hobsons sold both plain and marked glasses, the ones with the mark of the Crown were the more expensive

of the two.

J R Hobson & Co. must have at some time expanded their business as brass founders,