Hadfields of Sheffield

Guest grahamfutter

:( HADFIEILD OF SHEFFIELD.

I WAS A LOCO DRIVER @HADFIELD,

ARE THER ANY PEOPLE LEFT,

Welcome Graham, Hope you enjoy the site - hav you any stories of your time at Hadfields to share - we'd love to hear them :)

Guest grahamfutter

Welcome Graham, Hope you enjoy the site - hav you any stories of your time at Hadfields to share - we'd love to hear them :)

Where and when to start , I had a blue print of Hadfield but I cannot find it with moving home but I know the layout of the firm, great to hear from you, thank you.

Guest Old Canny Street Kid

where do whent to start , ihad a blue print of hadhield but i cannot find it with moving home but i know the lay out of the firm, grate to hear from you, thank you.

Hadfields at East Hecla Works on Vulcan Road was truly one of the great Sheffield firms, and it is a tragedy that it has disappeared. I worked in the offices there for a short time in the 1950s --in the Sales R department, where the boss was a guy called Jack Bowles. I cannot imagine that any of the people who were in that office with me are still around, for most of them were a lot older than me. My closest colleague at that time was a lad called Mike Williams, and I believe he later ran a ppst office somewhere in the Sheffield area, but, sadly, he died a few years ago.

I know that one of the people in the metallurgy department was the famous old Sheffield United player Harry Johnson, who scored more than 200 goals for the Blades. In that department, too, there was a man called Knowles.

Where and when to start , I had a blue print of Hadfield but I cannot find it with moving home but I know the layout of the firm, great to hear from you, thank you.

I know Hadfields had the Hecla and East Hecla plants - did they own any others? Where was your Loco based? Took this photo down by the River Don.

Guest skeets