Cooks Farm Wincobank Lane

castle boy

Hi and Welcome to the site Castle Boy.

Small starter for 10 from Trade Directories (I have no knowledge of Wincobank, never mind anything more detailed !)

Henry Cook, The Grange, Wincobank Lane, Farmer 1905-1925 (possibly earlier and indeed later; just what shows up on Directory searches).

1957, 1968, 1971 (all Kelly's Directories) H. Cook, Farmer, The Grange, Wincobank Lane.

Still no memories of the place at all ...

Henry Cooks farm was actually called Grange Farm . I knew Henry very well indeed when I was a young fellow .I used to work on Shepcote Lane and used to walk to work and back home again every day to keep myself fit . So I passed through Henrys farmyard twice each day and we used to have a good old chin wag about bygone times .He was so interesting I couldn't breakaway from him .

In October 1847 there was a "daring Highway robbery" on the person of Mr Gilberthorpe of Grange Farm, who was returning home from Sheffield market, and a little before dusk was between Grimesthorpe road and Osgathorpe House when he was seized and knocked insensible by four men, who rifled his pockets of four half-crowns and some other silver and copper coins.

Mr Gilberthorpe was robbed of four half-crowns plus silver and copper coins in 1847 , in a rough estimate

does anyone know how much that would equate to today ?

4 x half crowns = £1

Equivalent value of £1 in 1847 is not as simple as one might think, it seems.

It ranges from £79.74 to £2,483.00

As explained here.

4 x half crowns = £1

As explained here.

Eh ..... he he

4 x half crowns = £1

As explained here.

No -- 4 half crowns is ten bob

2s 6d x 4 = 8s + 24d = 10s

Look mum I can do algebra!

I am with you on this one Edmund completely ,did'nt reckon with two previous posters ,at least it was when I went to school many years ago .