"the Dining Rooms"

THYLACINE

Sometime in the late 60's, I'm an apprentice electrician at UCC otherwise known as Orgreave Coke Ovens. My superiors have big ambitions for me, according to them I could make Electrical Engineer in 5 years if I apply myself. But despite a Grammar School education, I've been on the slide for the last couple of years, going through a teenage crisis when nothing else matters but riding the motorbike, playing football on Saturday and going to the pub on weekends. They're pushing the Ordinary National but night school is not on my agenda - three nights a week! Who are they kidding? I lump for the City and Guilds on block release and they send me to some Dickensian workhouse near Kelham Island, wooden benches and Bunsen burners. But it has it's advantages - there are girls on the course, two girls, heavily outnumbered but it didn’t matter. And there was the Alma, on a back street behind the college, 2 minutes walk, pie and peas every lunchtime and a pint of Stones. I think I came of age at that place, at that time.