Harold K Styring

Guest jessicahellis

Guest jessicahellis

Hi all...just doing some digging in the family past-only just started and am a complete novice..my grandma was from sheffield and lived there until she died, she was called winifred unwin.when she died we found an old piece of paper from october 1958 that had a plan of all properties own by a harold k styring and an almost family tree of this family but not sure how this related to our family..my granddad was an ellis?!?! Anyone have any info please get in touch

Thanks very much

Jess ellis

Guest jessicahellis

Hi vox.

My piece of paper has quite a few of these names on but I havent got far enough to know how or if they are related to us-can scan and put on yor post tonight if you would like to see..just wondered if you had heard of winifred unwin who was born and bred in sheffield or my granddad who was called joseph ernest kitchener ellis? Trying to find a link?

I sent an email to my cousin who is the one doing research at the moment.

This is his repy

I've checked on marriages and I cant find any marriage between a Styring and anyone called Unwin or Ellis. As you know, Uncle Harold's tree only shows the male lines and for these, only a few spouses surnames are shown - none of them Unwin or Ellis. If Unwin was Winifred's married surname, her mother's maiden name could have been Styring. I checked on the marriages of men called Unwin to someone called Winifred and found 3 within the likely timeframe - 1900 to 1920 (although this is only a guess). The maiden names were Winifred Merrit, Winifred Lee and Winifred Tym - no marriages to Styring recorded for any of these surnames.

Vox

Is Frank Rusby Styring, any relation, his name is on Crookes Cemetery Memorial

M.G.C.

Died 9/4/17

Buried at Beaurains, Arras, France

This is the ELLIS/UNWIN marriage...

GRO Marriages SEP Qtr 1941

Ellis Joseph E K ( Unwin)

Unwin Winifred L (Ellis)

Sheffield 9c 1190